

JOINT COMMITTEE MEMBERSHIP / APPOINTMENTS 2018-2019

COUNCILS

COUNCILS		
Joint Strategic Committee Membership is the Leader and their Executive (no requirement for political balance)		
No	Councillor	Political Group
	Worthing Borough Co	ouncil
1	Chair: Dan Humphreys	Conservative
2	Vice-Chair: Kevin Jenkins	Conservative
3	Elizabeth Sparkes	Conservative
4	Val Turner	Conservative
5	Ed Crouch	Conservative
6	Heather Mercer	Conservative
	Adur District Cour	ncil
1	Chair:	Conservative
2	Vice-Chair:	Conservative
3		Conservative
4		Conservative
5		Conservative
6		Conservative

Joint Governance Committee (requirement for political balance)		
No	Councillor	Political Group
	Worthing Borough Co	ouncil
1	Chair: Lionel Harman	Conservative
2	Vice-Chair: Nigel Morgan	Conservative
3	Steve Wills	Conservative
4	Jane Sim	Conservative
5	Bryan Turner	Conservative
6	Louise Murphy	Conservative
7	Jim Deen	Labour
8	Mark Withers	UKIP
Adur District Council		
1	Chair: George Barton	Conservative
2	Vice-Chair: Kevin Boram	Conservative
3	Peter Metcalfe	Conservative
4	Andrew McGregor	Conservative
5	Paul Mansfield	Conservative
6	Barry Mear	Labour
7	Dave Balfe	Labour
8	Paul Graysmark	UKIP

Note: Not more than one member to be an Executive Member

For Standards matters:

Independent persons: Simon Norris-Jones and Susan Clark (1 vacancy)

Parish representatives: Lancing Parish Council (1) – Sompting Parish Council (1)

Joint Staff Committee (requirement for political balance)		
No	Councillor	Political Group
Worthing Borough Council		
1	Chair: Keith Bickers	Conservative
2	Vice-Chair: Noel Atkins	Conservative
3	Ant Baker	Independent Con
Adur District Council		
1	Chair: Brian Boggis	Conservative
2	Vice-Chair: Brian Coomber	Conservative
3	Lavinia O'Connor	Labour

Joint Senior Staff Committee (requirement for political balance)			
No	Councillor	Political Group	
Worthing Borough Council			
1	Chair: Daniel Humphreys	Conservative	
2	Vice-Chair: Kevin Jenkins	Conservative	
3	Rebecca Cooper	Labour	
Adur District Council			
1	Chair: usually the Leader	Conservative	
2	Vice-Chair: usually the Deputy Leader	Conservative	
3	Les Alden	Labour	

Note: Each Council must have one Executive member

Joint Overview & Scrutiny Committee (requirement for political balance)		
No	Councillor	Political Group
	Worthing Borough C	ouncil
1	Chair: Roy Barraclough	Conservative
2	Vice-Chair: Keith Bickers	Conservative
3	Karen Harman	Conservative
4	Charles James	Conservative
5	Steve Waight	Conservative
6	Sean McDonald	Conservative
7	Rebecca Cooper	Labour
8	Bob Smytherman	Lib Dem
	Adur District Cour	ncil
1	Chair: Stephen Chipp	Conservative
2	Vice-Chair: Andrew McGregor	Conservative
3	Carol Albury	Conservative
4	Kevin Boram	Conservative
5	Paul Mansfield	Conservative
6	Lavinia O'Connor	Labour
7	Catherine Arnold	Labour
8	Joss Loader	SBRA



COMMITTEE MEMBERSHIP / APPOINTMENTS 2018-2019

Executive, appointed by the Leader				
	Councillor		Title	
1	Daniel Humphreys	Leader		
2	Kevin Jenkins	_ · ·	Deputy Leader Executive Member for Regeneration	
3	Ed Crouch	Executive Me	mber for Digital and Environment	
4	Heather Mercer	Executive Me	mber for Customer Services	
5	Elizabeth Sparkes	Executive Me	mber for Resources	
6	Val Turner	Executive Me	mber for Health and Wellbeing	
Policy Advisors to Executive Members These are not Council appointments; these are made by the individual Executive Member, advised to the Director of Communities.				
1	Alex Harman Nigel Morgan	Lea	ader	
2	Josh High	Ex	ecutive Member for Regeneration	
3	Keith Bickers		ecutive Member for Digital and vironment	
4	Louise Murphy	Ex	ecutive Member for Customer Services	
5	Steve Wills	Ex	ecutive Member for Resources	
6	Karen Harman	Ex	ecutive Member for Health and Wellbeing	

Worthing Planning Committee (requirement for political balance)			
No	Councillor	Political Group	
1	Chair: Paul Yallop	Conservative	
2	Vice-Chair: Alex Harman	Conservative	
3	Steve Wills	Conservative	
4	Paul Westover	Conservative	
5	Nicola Waight	Conservative	
6	Noel Atkins	Conservative	
7	Jim Deen	Labour	
8	Hazel Thorpe	Lib Dem	
Substitute Member Nomination		Political Group	
	Councillors with relevant training as listed on the website	Conservative	
	Bob Smytherman	Lib Dem	

It is a requirement that Members and substitute members of this Committee, must receive appropriate training.

Overview and Scrutiny Committee

(requirement for political balance)

No	Councillor	Political Group
1	Chair: Roy Barraclough	Conservative
2	Vice-Chair: Keith Bickers	Conservative
3	Nigel Morgan	Conservative
4	Karen Harman	Conservative
5	Charles James	Conservative
6	Jane Sim	Conservative
7	Steve Waight	Conservative
8	Sean McDonald	Conservative
9	Louise Murphy	Conservative
10	Noel Atkins	Conservative
11	Tom Wye	Conservative
12	Richard Mulholland	Labour
13	Margaret Howard	Labour
14	Bob Smytherman	Lib Dem
15	Ant Baker	Independent Conservative

Worthing representative on the West Sussex Adult and Social Care Select Committee

(membership is from the Scrutiny Committee)

Keith Bickers Conservative

Licensing and Control Committees 'A' and 'B' (requirement for political balance)		
No	Councillor	Political Group
1	Chair: Paul High	Conservative
2	Vice-Chair: Sean McDonald	Conservative
3	Lionel Harman	Conservative
4	Karen Harman	Conservative
5	Paul Westover	Conservative
6	Charles James	Conservative
7	Jane Sim	Conservative
8	Joshua High	Conservative
9	Edward Crouch	Conservative
10	Keith Bickers	Conservative
11	Tom Wye	Conservative
12	Richard Mulholland	Labour
13	Mike Barrett	Labour
14	Bob Smytherman	Lib Dem
15	Mark Withers	UKIP
Substitu	ute Member Nomination	Political Group
	Hazel Thorpe	Lib Dem

Note:

Although two separate Committees operating under different rules, it is suggested that Membership/Chairman/Vice-Chairman are the same for both.

It is a requirement that Members of this Committee must receive appropriate training.

Substitutes are not permitted for 'B' Committee.

Requirement for Political balance is dependent on which Committee is meeting. Officers will ensure this is correct in each case.

Notified Group Leaders (Regulation 8(3))

Conservative Group - Cllr Dan Humphreys (Leader) Cllr Kevin Jenkins (Deputy)

Labour Group - Cllr Rebecca Cooper (Leader) Cllr Jim Deen (Deputy)

Lib Dem Group - Cllr Robert Smytherman (Leader) Cllr Hazel Thorpe (Deputy)